The All-Party Parliamentary Corporate Responsibility Group (APCRG) has announced the companies long-listed for its National Responsible Business Champion award 2018, as selected by the Group’s Co-Chairs, Jonathan Djanogly MP and Baroness (Sally) Greengross.
This Responsible Business Champions scheme was introduced by the Group in 2015 to encourage MPs to take a closer look at the activities of companies in their constituencies and consider the extent to which they are operating responsibly. It is supported by Anglian Water, an active APCRG member and BITC Responsible Business of the Year 2017.
The Group again received some very impressive nominations from MPs representing constituencies across the UK.  The long-list of 20 Constituency Responsible Business Champions will be narrowed down to a shortlist of companies to be announced later this month.  A Parliamentary judging panel will then select the APCRG National Responsible Business Champion 2018, but the winner will not be announced until the APCRG’s Responsible Business Champions reception on 4 July 2018, when Andrew Griffiths MP, the Corporate Responsibility Minister, will present the award to the winner.
As in previous years, a wide variety of companies from across the UK have been nominated by MPs from small high street businesses to large companies. Their activities range from aerospace, ammunitions, care and construction to farm shops, football clubs and opticians.  The one thing they have in common is their commitment to their communities, customers, employees and suppliers.
Baroness Greengross said:
“We were delighted to receive so many nominations from MPs again this year, with several MPs nominating a company for the first time.  It is always very encouraging to read about so many great companies doing wonderful work.  The nominations also demonstrate the cross-party support from MPs for responsible business practice.
We are looking forward to welcoming the nominating MPs and representatives of their Constituency Responsible Business Champions to Parliament, when we will celebrate their achievements together.”
Jonathan Djanogly MP said:
“As an MP myself, I know how busy MPs are, particularly as important Brexit legislation comes back to the Commons for us to consider.   We are grateful to all the nominating MPs who have taken the time to support our scheme by nominating a local company as their Constituency Responsible Business Champion. These Constituency Champions can be very proud of their success, which we hope will inspire other companies to follow the very positive example they set.
I was delighted to see that the responsible businesses nominated by MPs included both households names, such as BAE Systems, De La Rue plc and WH Smith, but also many small and medium sized businesses, such as Ardross Farm Shop, Thomas Carter Opticians and Hall-Fast Industrial Supplies.”
Constituency Responsible Business Champions long-listed for the 2018 APCRG National Responsible Business Champion award

Company MP Constituency
Actisense Michael Tomlinson MP Mid Dorset and North Poole
Anglo Recycling Technology Ltd Jake Berry MP Rossendale and Darwen
Ardross Farm Shop Stephen Gethins MP North-East Fife
BAE Systems Land UK David TC Davies MP Monmouth
De La Rue plc Rt Hon Maria Miller MP Basingstoke
EGGER (UK) Limited Bill Grant MP Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
Encocam Ltd Jonathan Djanogly MP Huntingdon
Environmental Reclamation Services Ltd Jo Swinson MP East Dunbartonshire
Essity Prudhoe Mill Guy Opperman MP Hexham
Hall Fast Industrial Supplies Ltd Ben Bradley MP Mansfield
HighNet Telecoms Drew Hendry MP Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Home Instead Senior Care (UK) Ltd Faisal Rashid MP Warrington South
MKM Building Supplies (Kirkcaldy) Ltd Lesley Laird MP Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath
Morley Hayes Mrs Pauline Latham MP Mid Derbyshire
Rowlinson Knitwear Ann Coffey MP Stockport
Senior Aerospace Bird Bellows Fiona Bruce MP Congleton
Thomas Carter Opticians Ltd Kate Green MP Stretford and Urmston
Tottenham Hotspur Football & Athletic Club Co Ltd David Lammy MP Tottenham
WH Smith PLC Justin Tomlinson MP North Swindon
WYG Alex Sobel MP Leeds North West


← Back to Business News